Understanding the New Microsoft Certifications 2020 | How to Get Started in IT

are you flustered by the changes they've

made to the Microsoft certifications I'm

Mike Roderick from IT Pro TV and in this

episode of how to get started in IT

we're going to cover those changes and

see if we can't clear it up for you


alright so the first thing we want to

talk about is the changes they've made

to the certification process or the I

don't want to call it the categories

Microsoft has always been about product

based certifications you've got

certified in Server 2012 or you got

certified in server 2016 or Windows 7 or

Windows 8 if anybody took those exams

that's no longer the case

Microsoft has switched over to a role

based certification process that means

rather than getting certified on a

particular technology we're getting

certified on a job role really

independent of the underlying technology

and this is a really good thing

right I know a lot of people are

confused about it and a lot of people

are used to getting your MCSA in 2012

and you're MCSA in 2016 and you're

wondering where that MCSA is in 2019 but

the way things are nowadays with with

operating systems as a service the way

we're rolling out updates and changes to

our operating systems the underlying

operating system is no longer as

important as the the processes right the

technology that you're using to complete

your job so rather than getting

certified in a particular version of

server you're getting certified in say

as your Active Directory it doesn't

really matter what the underlying

operating system is going to be so

that's the first big hurdle people are

gonna have is - you have to get away

from the mentality if I'm gonna get

certified in a particular version of an

operating system or a particular version

of a product that's no longer the case

you're gonna get certified and what it

is that you want to do and this is

really advantageous for you as well as

the employers because they know what

they need I need somebody that can

handle office 365 right so you can get

certified in Microsoft I say officer you

see Microsoft Office 365

now you can prove to that employer that

you know that technology because that's

what they're implementing they're not

implementing it based on the underlying

technology you get certified in

as your Active Directory again really

doesn't matter what's going on

underneath so get past that get over the

whole I need to get certified in a

particular version of a product you're

gonna get certified in what it is you

plan to do in the field the next thing

we want to talk about is the naming

convention because those have changed as

well we used to have exams called mtas

or Microsoft technology associates these

were our entry level type exams those

are still there but we now have some

called fundamentals so you'll see like

AZ 900 is Azure fundamentals or MS 900

which is your office 365 fundamentals

right these are meant to be entry-level

exams if you're new to IT or if you want

to see if you want to move into a

particular area these are great exams to

start with because they're gonna first

of all not assume any knowledge they're

gonna be ground level bottom floor type

exams testing you on basic knowledge so

it gives you a chance to kind of get

your feet wet I'm gonna take that AZ 900

exam and see what it sure is all about

and if I like it maybe I move on into AZ

103 or 104 is it's going to be called

coming up shortly so those are like

entry level exams just like the old

MTA's work now most of those fundamental

exams are not going to get you anything

as far as moving on to the next level

you'll get your as your fundamentals

certificate but that doesn't count

towards say the AZ 104 or anything like

that they're meant to just be standalone

baseline knowledge and even if you're

not in IT these can be really good exams

for you you know if you have to support

an IT department it's important that you

understand the terminology and the

technologies that your IT department is

using so when they come to you and they

say we need this particular resource or

we need this particular subscription

level or this particular support level

in Azure you'll know what they're

talking about and you can make an

intelligent decision so those exams are

again geared towards entry-level IT

personnel or people that work with IT

and just need that foundational

knowledge the next level of exams or is

the what we used to call the Microsoft

Certified system administrator

or MCSA for short those were the

technology-based so you got your MCS a

and Server 2012 or your MCS a

interobserver 2016 those are now called

associate roles so these are going to be

your just above those entry level where

we're proving that we understand a

technology and I can now get a job in

that field I can go to an employer and I

can show them that hey I've got me my AZ

104 I've got my associate certification

I knew this technology I can work with

this technology and it would be good to

hire me kind of thing right then we can

move into the next level which used to

be called the MC se or MC SD so if you

still hold any of those certifications

and you're looking to update those into

more current certifications you would be

looking at expert role certification

types so these are the next level up

these are the ones that go beyond the

associate again they're called expert so

again you're gonna have to prove more

detailed knowledge these exams are gonna

be much harder right because you're

gonna have to go above and beyond the

basic skills to work with if within that

particular role all right so to recap

with these new exams in this role based

certification we've got the fundamental

exams which are going to be considered

entry-level no experience really

required and this is going to help

develop your skills really geared

towards a broad audience

again let's you test those waters see if

that's something that you're interested

in pursuing right when we get into the

associate and the expert level

certifications this is going to require

technical knowledge you're gonna need to

understand the technology be able to

implement it design it manage it

depending on if you're going for the

associate or the expert so these exams

the associate and the expert are really

for somebody that's interested in or

transitioning to a particular job role

alright so the last thing I want to talk

about is the exams that are available

within these role-based certifications

we talk about the fundamental exams we

have to to pick from currently there's

the azure fundamentals and then there's

the Microsoft 365 fundamentals so pick

the one that you're interested in or

think you might be interested in

starting once we move up to the

associate and the expert level roles we

have things like administer

or AI engineer have data scientists

developer security engineer DevOps

engineer or Solutions Architect these

are all different roles that you might

currently be in or be interested in

transitioning to and there are

certifications available for those roles

and they're adding more all the time so

make sure you go back to Microsoft's

page now take a look at Microsoft

certifications and see what roles are

available and start there all right so

hopefully that helps clear up some of

the confusion around this new role based

certification model that Microsoft is

deploying if you have any insights you'd

like to add make sure you put them in

the comments below and don't forget to

subscribe to our YouTube channel I'm

Mike Roderick and this has been another

episode of how to get started in IT